South Lakeland District Council election results 2010

18 seats were contested on 6 May 2010.  Turnout was 72.25%.

Ambleside and Grasmere Ward

Seats: 1 Electorate: 3,993 Turnout: 62.11% 

Candidate Party Votes
CLARKE, Alan Stephen Conservative 826
CROSS, Kathy Labour 123
VATCHER, David Maurice * Liberal Democrats 1,531

VATCHER, David Maurice was elected. (Liberal Democrats hold)

Kendal Castle Ward

Seats: 1 Electorate: 1,489 Turnout: 76.89%

Candidate Party Votes
ALEXANDER, James Robin Conservative 359
LAWSON, Sonia * Liberal Democrats 786

LAWSON, Sonia was elected. (Liberal Democrats hold)

Kendal Far Cross Ward

Seats: 1 Electorate: 1,696 Turnout: 67.51%

Candidate Party Votes
BELL, Colin Conservative 321
GRAHAM, Clive Rodney * Liberal Democrats 695
ROBERTS, Kieran Liam Labour 129

GRAHAM, Clive Rodney was elected. (Liberal Democrats hold)

Kendal Fell Ward

Seats: 1 Electorate: 1,713 Turnout: 66.26% 

Candidate Party Votes
JAMESON, Brendan Liberal Democrats 855
MOLLOY, Marilyn Labour 280

JAMESON, Brendan was elected. (Liberal Democrats hold)

Kendal Heron Hill Ward

Seats: 1 Electorate: 1,534 Turnout: 79.33% 

Candidate Party Votes
PERRY, David Lester Edgar Conservative 334
SHINE, Andy * Liberal Democrats 883

SHINE, Andy was elected. (Liberal Democrats hold)

Kendal Highgate Ward 

Seats: 1 Electorate: 1,659 Turnout: 66.97%

Candidate Party Votes
DIXON, Philip James Liberal Democrats 723
HUCK, Deborah Ann Conservative 250
RING, Allan James Labour 138

DIXON, Philip James was elected. (Liberal Democrats hold)

Kendal Kirkland Ward

Seats: 1 Electorate: 1,633 Turnout: 62.28% 

Candidate Party Votes
DAWSON, Julie Marie * Liberal Democrats 611
HINE, Emma Therese Marie Conservative 208
ROTHWELL, Tony Labour 198

DAWSON, Julie Marie was elected. (Liberal Democrats hold)

Kendal Mintsfeet Ward

Seats: 1 Electorate: 1,652 Turnout: 73.61%

Candidate Party Votes
EVANS, David Liberal Democrats 873
SLATER, Lyndsay Elizabeth Conservative 343

EVANS, David was elected. (Liberal Democrats hold)

Kendal Nether Ward

Seats: 1 Electorate: 1,660 Turnout: 75.12% 

Candidate Party Votes
CHAMBERS, Stephen Peter Conservative 297
FEENEY-JOHNSON, Clare * Liberal Democrats 863
HAIGH, Charles Richard Labour 87

FEENEY-JOHNSON, Clare was elected. (Liberal Democrats hold)

Kendal Oxenholme and Natland Ward

Seats: 1 Electorate: 1,677 Turnout: 77.46% 

Candidate Party Votes
BOBBETT, Alan Denis Conservative 546
CROSS, Rae Labour 51
GRAY, Brenda Clare * Liberal Democrats 702

GRAY, Brenda Clare was elected. (Liberal Democrats hold)

Kendal Parks Ward

Seats: 1 Electorate: 1,676 Turnout: 72.08% 

Candidate Party Votes
BROOK, Jonathan Richard Liberal Democrats 787
ROSS, Dan Conservative 320
SPARLING, Lois Katherine Labour 101

BROOK, Jonathan Richard was elected. (Liberal Democrats hold)

Kendal Romney Ward

Seats: 1 Electorate: 1,714 Turnout: 71.88% 

Candidate Party Votes
FLITCROFT, Pam Conservative 336
HENDERSON, Penelope Anne Labour 121
VINCENT, Graham Jeffrey *  Liberal Democrats 775

VINCENT, Graham Jeffrey was elected. (Liberal Democrats hold)

Kendal Stonecross Ward

Seats: 1 Electorate: 1,617 Turnout: 80.58% 

Candidate Party Votes
BYROM, Nigel Ronald Solomon Conservative 381
EMMOTT, Sylvia Margaret *  Liberal Democrats 850
LAW, Ian Geoffrey Labour 72

EMMOTT, Sylvia Margaret was elected. (Liberal Democrats hold)

Kendal Strickland Ward

Seats: 1 Electorate: 1,500 Turnout: 75.53% 

Candidate Party Votes
BATTESON, John Seymour Labour 115
COLEMAN, Stephen John * Liberal Democrats 738
WADE, Derrick Conservative 279

COLEMAN, Stephen John was elected. (Liberal Democrats hold)

Kendal Underley Ward

Seats: 1 Electorate: 1,698 Turnout: 69.20% 

Candidate Party Votes
BODEN, Rob Liberal Democrats 709
BRAITHWAITE, Paul Michael Labour 175
DAWSON, Karen Patricia Conservative 291

BODEN, Rob was elected. (Liberal Democrats hold)

Mid Furness Ward

Seats: 1 Electorate: 3,169 Turnout: 73.24% 

Candidate Party Votes
AIREY, Caroline Conservative 1,132
CARSON, Jane * Liberal Democrats 986
DUNCALF, Jo-Anna Clare Green Party 203

AIREY, Caroline was elected. (Conservative gain)

Sedbergh and Kirkby Lonsdale Ward

Seats: 1 Electorate: 4,863 Turnout: 78.12% 

Candidate Party Votes
FENWICK, Anne Conservative 1,691
LONGMIRE, Derek William Labour 146
McPHERSON, Ian * Liberal Democrats 1,962

McPHERSON, Ian was elected. (Liberal Democrats hold)

Staveley-in-Cartmel Ward

Seats: 1 Electorate: 1,591 Turnout: 76.68% 

Candidate Party Votes
SANDERSON, Sue Liberal Democrats 548
WALSH, Ted Conservative 672

WALSH, Ted was elected. (Conservative gain)

Overall totals

Electorate: 36,534

Turnout: 72.25%

SLDC political balance

SLDC  political balance  Conservative  Labour  Liberal Democrats Vacancy  Total 
Prior to 6 May 2010  14  1  35  1  51
New total  16  1  34  0  51

* denotes a sitting councillor

Positive Feedback Okay Feedback Negative Feedback