Brownfield Land Register

Last Updated: 3 April 2024

The government is committed to maximising the number of new homes built on suitable brownfield land. The Town and Country Planning (Brownfield Land Register Regulations) 2017 (the Regulations) require planning authorities to prepare and maintain a register of previously developed land within their planning authority area. The planning authority area in our case means South Lakeland district excluding land within the Yorkshire Dales and Lake District National Parks.

Our Brownfield Land Register is published under the Open Government Licence and is available in the following formats:

How we prepared the Brownfield Land Register

We have prepared the Brownfield Land Register in accordance with relevant government legislation, planning practice guidance and the Government's Data Standard.

The Regulations state that sites must meet all of the following criteria to be included on the register:

  • the land has an area of at least 0.25 hectares or is capable of supporting at least 5 dwellings
  • the land is suitable for residential development
  • the land is available for residential development
  • residential development of the land is achievable

In addition to these criteria, the government's guidance states that local authorities should also have regard to their development plan, national policies and advice, and any guidance issues by the Secretary of State in preparing their registers.

We have sourced sites for the register from a number of sources including:

  • brownfield sites with planning permission (or expired permission)
  • brownfield sites allocated in the Local Plan
  • brownfield sites in the council's most recent Strategic Housing Land Availability Assessment
  • brownfield sites identified by officers

The suitability, availability and achievability of the sites for residential development was assessed based on the definitions of these terms in the Regulations. This assessment was based on available information on potential site constraints and impacts, known ownership information and developers’ intentions, and a judgement on the timescale in which sites could reasonably be developed.

Brownfield Land Registers may consist of two parts:

  • Part 1 is mandatory and comprises all brownfield sites appropriate for residential development, including sites with and without planning permission or permission in principle
  • Part 2 is currently optional and comprises those sites from Part 1 where the local planning authority has decided to grant planning permission in principle for residential development subject to requirements set out in the Regulations

We have published Part 1 of the Brownfield Land Register, but have not prepared a Part 2 at this stage.

Further information

More detailed information on brownfield land registers is provided below.

Government planning practice guidance on brownfield land registers

Government guidance on brownfield registers and permission in principle: frequently asked questions

The Town and Country Planning (Brownfield Land Register) Regulations 2017

The Town and Country Planning (Permission in Principle) Order 2017