Save time, do it online: Pay Apply Report

Who we are and what we do

South Lakeland is situated in the south of Cumbria and encompasses a vast section of the beautiful southern Lake District, one of Britain’s most spectacular and most visited tourism destinations.

South Lakeland District Council or SLDC was formed after local government reorganisation in 1974 and its vision is to make the district the best place to live, work and visit.

Our headquarters are situated in the attractive market town of Kendal on the banks of the River Kent and on the doorstep of not one but two glorious national parks, the Lake District National Park and the Yorkshire Dales.

The Liberal Democrat-controlled authority also has offices in the bustling market town of Ulverston, which is on the fringe of the scenic Cumbrian coastline, and the vast Morecambe Bay.

South Lakeland itself covers a total area of 600 square miles of pretty villages, lakes, rivers, mountains, and includes some of Cumbria’s most attractive towns like Arnside, Bowness-on-Windermere, Broughton-in-Furness, Windermere, Coniston, Ambleside, Grange-over-Sands, Kirkby Lonsdale and Sedbergh.

As a popular tourism area it attracts in the region of eight million visitors a year wanting to enjoy the Lake District for outdoor pursuits like walking, cycling, climbing, sailing and canoeing as well as being home to many well established restaurants, shops, country pubs, cinemas and some of England’s leading tourist attractions, hotels, B&Bs and self catering cottages.

We employ around 420 people and the district itself has a population of 103,700, which is boosted during the tourism season by domestic and international visitors. The council sets an annual budget of around £13 million every year.

Our vision is: “By involving people and creating opportunities we will make South Lakeland the best place to live, work and visit,”

Our three key values are:

  • valuing people
  • excellence
  • openness

The council’s priorities are:

  • housing
  • economy
  • culture and wellbeing
  • environment

The district has a total of 18 wards and 51 Councillors.

Positive Feedback Okay Feedback Negative Feedback
Please rate this page