Save time, do it online: Pay Apply Report

Parliamentary General Election 2017

UK Parliamentary General Election 2017

The parliamentary elections will take place on Thursday 8 June 2017. South Lakeland contains the whole of the Westmorland and Lonsdale constituency, and part of the Barrow and Furness constituency. Any queries regarding the Barrow and Furness constituency should be directed to Barrow Borough Council, except concerning absent vote applications.

Register to vote

Reigster to vote in this election by Monday 22 May 2017 by visiting register to vote.

If you are unable to get to a polling station you can apply for a postal or proxy vote. New postal vote applications must be received by 5pm on Tuesday 23 May 2017. New proxy vote applications must be received by 5pm on Wednesday 31 May 2017.

For more information, including application forms, see postal and proxy voting.

Standing as a candidate

A briefing will be held for prospective candidates and their agents wishing to stand in the Westmorland and Lonsdale constituency. It will take place in the Georgian Room, Kendal Town Hall at 4.30pm on Tuesday 2 May 2018.

Please contact the Electoral Services office if you wish to attend, or can't attend and are interested in standing. For an overview on how to stand as a party political or independent candidate please visit the Electoral Commission website.


Local elections

Local elections are taking place on Thursday 4 May 2017. For any information relating to those elections please visit the Cumbria County Council elections page, or the Ambleside and Grasmere District by-election page.