Save time, do it online: Pay Apply Report

Elections overview

The Returning Officer for South Lakeland is responsible for carrying out all elections, including:

  • district, county and parish council elections
  • parliamentary elections for the Member of Parliament for the Westmorland and Lonsdale constituency
  • elections for the Members of the European Parliament (for South Lakeland's part of the North West Region)
  • various referendum and parish polls

South Lakeland District Council notice of vacancy

There is a vacancy for the Burneside Ward of South Lakeland District Council caused by the resignation of Councillor Keith Hurst-Jones. As the vacancy has occurred within 6 months of the next scheduled elections (on 3 May 2018) and Councillor Hurst-Jones was due to retire as a result of the abolition of all district wards as part of the further electoral review, there will not be a by-election.

Notice of Vacancy (PDF/18KB/1 page)

More information on the further electoral review

Local elections

All the scheduled local elections, eg district, county and parish council elections, are held on the first Thursday in May.

By-elections can be held at any time to fill a vacancy if, for instance, a councillor resigns.

District, county and parish councillors are all elected for a four-year term and can stand for re-election when their term of office ends. They may resign at any time during their term of office and a by-election may be held to fill the vacancy.

South Lakeland District Council elections

There are 51 councillors representing 45 wards. Approximately one third of all district councillors retire each year, except every fourth year when Cumbria County Council elections are held.

At the next scheduled district council elections in 2018, new ward boundaries come into effect and the number of wards will reduce to 18. The number of councillors remains the same with a mixture of two and three-member wards.

Cumbria County Council elections

Cumbria County Council have 18 councillors representing 18 county electoral divisions in South Lakeland. All county councillors retire at the same time unless one resigns before their term of office ends.

Parish and town council elections

They follow the cycle of district council elections. All councillors on a particular parish council retire at the same time.  The number of councillors varies on each parish or town council. The next scheduled parish and town council elections will be held in 2018.

Parliamentary general elections

There is now a fixed term for Parliament of five years so parliamentary general elections must now be held at the end of that five year term. As a result of the parliamentary general elections being held in June 2017, the next scheduled election will take place in 2022.

European parliamentary elections

There are eight Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) for the North West Region.  European parliamentary elections take place every five years. The next scheduled European elections will be in 2019, however, the result of the referendum on the UK’s membership of the European Union means this is unlikely to take place.

Voting at elections

To be able to vote in any election your name must be included in the Register of Electors.

Register to vote

You will receive a poll card before an election telling you when and where you can go to vote.

If you are unable to get to your polling station you may be able to register for a postal or proxy vote.