Conservation areas

Last Updated: 25 February 2022

Conservation areas are designated for their special architectural or historic interest.

These areas are subject to extra planning controls, meaning property alterations, demolition and the felling or pruning of trees within the area may require permission from us.

There are currently 10 conservation areas in the district, the boundary maps can be viewed below.

Works to buildings or trees in conservation areas

If you live in a conservation area and plan to carry out work to your property it is important to check whether you need permission before you start.

Do I need planning permission?

If your property is a listed building, you may also need to apply for listed building consent.

Find out more about working with trees in a conservation area.

Further advice

Historic England: 'Living in a Conservation Area'

Historic England: advice for home owners

Map keys

These keys should be opened and viewed alongside the Townscape Feature and Architectural Quality maps for each settlement.

Beetham (adopted 27 May 2009)

Burton in Kendal (adopted 14 October 2009)

Cartmel (adopted 11 March 2009)

Grange-Over-Sands (16 August 2007)

Heversham (adopted 8 April 2009)

Kendal (adopted 5 December 2007)

Kirkby Lonsdale (adopted 13 May 2008)

Milnthorpe (adopted 12 December 2009)

Newland Furnace (adopted 11 March 2009)

Ulverston (adopted 24 May 2006)