About building control

Last Updated: 16 July 2021

Our Building Control team will help and advise you to ensure your building projects meet building regulations, safely and cost effectively.

Whether you are a large developer undertaking a large-scale project or a homeowner making changes to your property, we support you every step of the way.

  • we are the main provider of building control support in South Lakeland
  • our team of surveyors are fully qualified and have excellent local knowledge
  • we are local, readily available and can offer same day advice
  • we are a trusted, independent, not for profit service. We are publicly accountable
  • we offer a pre-application advice service helping your project to run smoothly from the start, avoiding costly mistakes
  • we can liaise with other council departments/professionals easily and quickly

Building control contacts

You can get in touch with our building control team by phone or email.

Building Control:

01539 793 331
building.control@southlakeland.gov.uk

Senior Specialist: 

Justin Rickards
01539 793 355
j.rickards@southlakeland.gov.uk

Specialists:

Andy Carruthers
01539 793 357
a.carruthers@southlakeland.gov.uk

Mike Foster (Ulverston Office)
01539 793 358
m.foster@southlakeland.gov.uk

Rob Sargeant
01539 793 362
r.sargeant@southlakeland.gov.uk

Wayne Barber
Telephone: 01539 793 363
w.barber@southlakeland.gov.uk

Assistants:

Mike Sargeant (Ulverston Office)
01539 793 359

Nigel Pearson
01539 793 360

Guidance and resources

Information and advice to help you plan and carry out your building project:

Building excellence awards

Local Authority Building Control (LABC) Building Excellence Awards are all about the essence of good buildings. Finalists are not judged on architectural beauty, but on the "excellence" shown from a construction and technical building control point of view.

The awards recognise not just buildings but celebrate their design and construction teams that have tussled with technical issues, difficult sites and found innovative and creative solutions.

Due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic LABC have decided to celebrate the award winners digitally for 2020.