Save time, do it online: Pay Apply Report

Window of opportunity for local election candidates

23 March 2018

The notices of election have today been published for district and parish council elections which take place on 3 May 2018.

Anyone intending to stand as a candidate in May’s local elections is being advised to submit their nomination papers well before the deadline of 4pm on 6 April, 2018.

If you are interested in standing as a candidate, information can be found on our local elections page and also at the Electoral Commission.

Now the notice of election has been published, nomination papers can be submitted by anyone wishing to stand for election. 

These papers are available from our Returning Officer and relevant parish clerks.

As the time allowed for submission of these papers is short, if anyone wishes to stand as a candidate they are being strongly advised to complete and submit their nomination papers as soon as possible.

The election for South Lakeland will see all 51 seats contested this year.

This is because the Local Government Boundary Commission recently carried out an electoral review of South Lakeland and as a result new ward boundaries will come into effect at the May elections.

The changes will ensure that each ward best reflects the interests and identity of the local community and that each councillor represents approximately the same number of electors.

We currently consist of 51 members and this number will not change.  However, the number of wards has reduced from 45 to 18, each represented by either two or three councillors.

To set up these new wards, all 51 seats will be contested in May.

Voters may therefore notice a number of differences during this district council election, including changes to the location of polling stations, particularly in Oxenholme and Ulverston.

Following an interim review of polling stations, electors in the polling district of BR (Oxenholme and parts of Kendal, including Strawberry Fields) will now vote at a new polling station at the Lake District National Park Authority at Murley Moss. They will no longer need to travel to the polling station at Natland Village Hall, although Natland residents will still go to Natland Village Hall.

Electors who normally go to the Coronation Hall in Ulverston (polling district UI) are this year going to St Mary of Furness Catholic Church Hall.

Electors who last year went to the Free Grace Baptist Church in Ulverston (polling district UE) are this year going to Ulverston Children’s Centre on Lund Terrace.

A handful of other electors will also have changed polling station due to the polling district review and all voters are being advised to check their polling card carefully, as it will tell them exactly where they need to go.

Other changes that voters may notice as a result of the this year’s electoral review include:

  • It is likely that the ward name on the polling card has changed
  • The ballot paper may be longer, as there will be more candidates to choose from and voters will be able to choose more than one of them depending on how many members are in the ward. Voters are therefore advised to read their ballot paper carefully for instructions
  • Voters will be voting at the same time as everyone else in the district, as all 51 seats are up for election

There will also be a by-election in Ulverston East for Ulverston Town Council and some areas will have full parish or town council elections on the same day:

  • Dent Parish Council
  • Garsdale Parish Council
  • Kendal Town Council
  • Natland Parish Council
  • Sedbergh Parish Council

Make sure you can vote

You can only vote if your name is on the register of electors.

If you don’t get a poll card you may not be registered. 

Register to vote.

You will need your National Insurance number and it only takes five minutes. If you are unable to register online, need to check if you are registered or need to change your details please contact our electoral services on 01539 733 333. The deadline for registering to vote is midnight on Tuesday, 17 April.

If you are registered to vote but are away on holiday or working on 3 May, or have difficulty getting to your polling station, you can apply for a postal or proxy vote. Please contact electoral services on 01539 733 333 for a postal or proxy vote application form or visit your vote matters to download a form.

The last day to apply for, change or cancel a postal vote is 5pm on Wednesday 18 April.

The last day to apply for, change or cancel a proxy vote is 5pm on Wednesday 25 April.

Polling stations will open at 7am and close at 10pm on Thursday, 3 May.

The count will take place during the day on Friday, 4 May, results will be posted on our website.