Pay Apply Report

Arnside and Milnthorpe by-election results

21 December 2018

Helen Chaffey and Pete McSweeney have been elected to represent seats covering the Arnside and Milnthorpe areas in by-elections held yesterday (Thursday).

Helen Chaffey was elected to the Arnside and Milnthorpe ward on South Lakeland District Council (SLDC) and Pete McSweeney was elected to the the Kent Estuary Electoral Division of Cumbria County Council.

The by-elections were called to fill the vacant seats following the death of Councillor Ian Stewart in October.


Arnside and Milnthorpe Ward (South Lakeland District Council)

Jill ABEL (Green Party): 125

Rachel ASHBURNER (Conservative Party): 709

Helen CHAFFEY (Liberal Democrats): 1,319

Kate Malinda Holly LOVE (Labour Party): 68

Turnout: 44.22%

Kent Estuary Electoral Division (Cumbria County Council)

Jill ABEL (Green Party): 109

Tom HARVEY (Conservative Party): 666

Pete MCSWEENEY (Liberal Democrats): 1,381

Kate Malinda Holly LOVE (Labour Party): 70

Turnout: 44.22%

Positive Feedback Okay Feedback Negative Feedback